PTK Chapter Receives Awards


Members of the Alpha Nu Omicron chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) international honor society at Wor-Wic Community College recently received awards and recognitions.

At the Middle States Regional convention held virtually, Alpha Nu Omicron again received a Middle States Gold designation, and, for the 13th year in a row, Five Star chapter status, as well as the 2020 Recognizing Excellence in Acceptance and Completion with Honors (REACH) award for membership development and furthering PTK’s mission of providing recognition and opportunities for growth and development to students on campus. REACH chapters achieved or exceeded a 15% membership acceptance rate in 2019.

In addition to this recognition, Ana Maria Hajiyev, president of the chapter, and Alec Foote, vice president of leadership, each were named Hall of Honor Chapter Officers. Recipients are selected based on their demonstration of leadership, involvement in chapter programs, friendship with fellow scholars and enthusiasm for the society’s hallmarks.

Dr. Pamela H. Budd, assistant professor of nursing, was recognized for completing the Five Star Advisor Program, which is designed to improve organizational and leadership skills to ensure diversity, promote service learning and foster undergraduate research in the chapter.

Alpha Nu Omicron also recently received the college’s Student Government Association award for Outstanding Community Service Project, based on their work with the campus food pantry and a social media research project.

PTK is an internationally-recognized honor society serving America’s two-year colleges. The Alpha Nu Omicron chapter was chartered at Wor-Wic in September of 1987. In addition to Budd, advisors of the chapter are Dr. Dana Burnside, associate professor of communication studies; Amanda Messatzzia, director of student success; and Dr. Lynn M. Derickson, professor of nursing.

3 thoughts on “PTK Chapter Receives Awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *