Semifinalists Announced for Rising Star Award for Outstanding Second-Year Teachers

Wicomico County Public Schools logo

Semifinalists have been announced for the 2024 Rising Star Award for outstanding second-year teachers. These 17 semifinalists will now submit a video for a chance to win this prestigious award – and the $1,000 that comes with it — from Bill and Teresa McCain and the McCain Foundation.

Congratulations to these semifinalists for the 2024 Rising Star Award:

Jonathan Adams, Band, Salisbury Middle

Gwendolyn Auvil, 5th Grade, Glen Avenue Elementary

Brooke Berezowski, Health Education, Wicomico Middle

Brooke Cahall, Prekindergarten, Prince Street Elementary

Molly Davis, Special Education, Fruitland Primary

Talya Exler, Prekindergarten, Prince Street Elementary

Brooke Filippelli, 1st Grade, Charles H. Chipman Elementary

Kira Fischer, English/Language Arts, Wicomico Middle

Kirsten Graham, Physical Education, Fruitland Primary

Abigail Howeth, 3rd Grade, Fruitland Intermediate

Ashley Jones Purnell, Math, Wicomico High

Kristina Morgan, Special Education, Prince Street Elementary

Julia Morris, 2nd Grade, Delmar Elementary

Amber Phillips, Special Education, Prince Street Elementary

Charlotte Skibicki, Special Education, East Salisbury Elementary

Jasmine Smith Horsey, 3rd Grade, Delmar Elementary

Janelle Thomas, Music, East Salisbury Elementary

In the 1st round of scoring for Rising Star, 75 eligible second-year teachers were scored, with the top scorers moving on to the 2nd round as semifinalists. In this 2nd and final round, semifinalists will submit a 90-second video answering a question about teaching.

Following the judging of the videos, three teachers will be named the Rising Star finalists. They will attend the Wicomico Teacher of the Year Spring Celebration with a guest on Thursday, April 11th at Venue 54, where the 2024 Rising Star Award winner will be named.