The William Donald Schaefer “Helping People Award 2021” Presented to WSW


The “William Donald Schaefer Helping People Award 2021” was presented to Women Supporting Women by the Comptroller of Maryland, Peter Franchot. The award is given to individuals and organizations in each of the 23 counties and Baltimore City who best exemplifies William Donald Schaefer’s lifelong commitment to helping people.

Winners are selected based on their demonstration of: Improving the community, swiftly solving a citizen problem through effective government intervention, directly aiding the most vulnerable in society or, creating a public/private partnership to improve the lives of Marylanders. The ceremony was held at the Community Foundation of the Eastern Shore’s conference room, Tuesday, June 14, 2022.

Pictured from left to right:

Tony Sarbanes, Billye Sarbanes (WSW Board member), Bill McCain (Wicomico County Councilman), Andie Hess (WSW Event Coordinator), Penny Bradford (WSW Board President), Peter Franchot (MD Comptroller), Carol Camper (WSW Administrative Assistant), Cindy Feist (WSW Executive Director), Sue Revelle (WSW Founder), Jocelyn Feist (WSW Mentor), Tish Withers (WSW Board Member), Anne Franchot, and Crystal Heiser (WSW Board Member)