USM Chancellor Caret Appoints Salisbury University Presidential Search Committee


Robert L. Caret, chancellor of the University System of Maryland (USM), today appointed the search and screening committee for the new president of Salisbury University. Current Salisbury President Janet Dudley-Eshbach announced in September that she will step down on June 30, 2018. The first woman to hold the office, she is the USM’s longest-serving female president and is the second longest-tenured president in Salisbury history.

“Identifying and hiring talented, visionary presidents for USM’s 12 institutions is one of the Board of Regents’ most important responsibilities,” Caret said. “A successful search depends on the participation of, and feedback from, the entire university community. I want to thank the faculty, students, staff, alumni and friends from across Salisbury University for agreeing to serve on the search committee. We all look forward to engaging deeply with colleagues, friends and neighbors in Salisbury as we move forward.”

The chair of the search committee is D’Ana Johnson, a member of the USM Board of Regents, a graduate of Morgan State University and the Georgetown University Law Center and a partner with the firm of Bonner Kiernan Trebach & Crociata LLP. Joining her will be Regent Robert Rauch. The other members of the committee, which includes representatives from Salisbury faculty, staff, students, and alumni, and from the greater community, are (alphabetically):

D’Ana Johnson, Chair
University System of Maryland

Robert Rauch
University System of Maryland

William P. Burke
Professor of Practice in Information & Decision Sciences
Director of Economic Development
Salisbury University

James Buss
Dean of Honors College
Associate Professor, History
Salisbury University

Mike Dunn
Greater Salisbury Committee
Salisbury, MD

Julia Glanz
City Administrator for the City of Salisbury
Salisbury, MD

Helena Hill
Assistant Dean of Students for Orientation and Student Conduct
Salisbury University

Brittany Kesteven
Student, Salisbury University
President, Graduate Student Council

Edwin Lashley
Chief of Police
Salisbury University

Arthur Lembo
Professor, Geography and Geosciences
Salisbury University

Deborah A. Mathews
Professor, Social Work
Salisbury University

Robert Moore
Moore Company, P.A.
Chair, Salisbury University Foundation, Inc.
Salisbury, MD

Sarah Surak
Associate Professor, Political Science; Environmental Studies
Salisbury University

Cearrah Sherman
Student, Salisbury University
President, Student Government Association

Leonard Raley
Vice Chancellor for Advancement
President of the University System of Maryland Foundation
University System of Maryland

On Oct. 19, Caret met with a number of groups across the Salisbury campus, including executive staff and deans; the Faculty Senate and Adjunct Faculty Caucus; student organization leaders and representatives; the SU Foundation and Alumni Boards, Town Gown Council members, SU patrons, local elected officials and the Greater Salisbury Committee; and the Staff Senate and President’s Advisory Team. In the coming weeks, a larger forum will be held on campus at which the Salisbury University community will have the opportunity to discuss the process with the search committee.

The committee’s work will conclude with its recommendation of finalists for consideration by the chancellor and the Board of Regents. The board will make the final selection. The entire search and selection process typically takes approximately six months.

Contact: Mike Lurie
Phone: 301.445.2719